Thursday, December 19, 2013

New From Kuwahara: BONETHRONE

Bonethrone is the fourth installment from Tennessee's experimental dark - ambient ambassadors KUWAHARA. Shifting focus towards conception vs. cataclysm they tread new ground on performance and profound accessibility, rather than evoking a space of darkness; now darkness shapes the space of this post industrial and bleak at best landscapes of mechanical and molten tectonic textures that permeate each track; one unfolding into the other, clawing their way out of an abysmal plane of introspective solitude.

Monday, December 10, 2012

Now Available - Solitude Eternal

Monday, April 30, 2012

Like Hemlock featured on Secret Music

Thanks goes out to Scott Raymond of Secret Music for including this track in their recent rotation!

WVKR-FM "Secret Music" Top 20 Playlist
                           April, 2012
1. Merge - Secret Life Of Machines - Self Released
2. Ian Boddy & Erik Wøllo - Frontiers - DiN
3. Janne Hanhisuanto - Quiet Places - Self Released
4. Nunc Stans - Peninsula - Dataobscura
5. Robert Carty - Cosmic Connections
6. John Lyell - Eternity - Self Released
7. Eraldo Bernocchi, Harold Budd & Robin Guthrie - Winter Garden - Rare Noise
8. Bil Vermette - Galaxies IV - Rainforest
9. Carl Weingarten - Panomorphia - Multiphase Records
10. Ewan Dobson - Ewan Dobson III - CandyRat Records
11. Steve Roach - Back to Life - Projekt
12. Rich Osborn - Giving Voice: Guitar Explorations - Free Range Raga Records
13. Robert Davies - The Alchemy Of Nature - Dataobscura
14. Dan Minoza and M.Peck - Like Hemlock - Waiting World Records
15. Broekhuis, Keller & Schonwalder - Red - Manikin Records
16. Alio Die - Deconsecrated and Pure - Projekt
17. Steve Roach - Groove Immersion [In Four Parts] - Timeroom Editions
18. Bob Ardern - Wires, Rosewood & Roots - Self Released
19. Kathryn Kaye - Heavy as a Feather - Final Notes
20. Berlin Heritage - Land Of The Rising Sun - Spheric Music

Friday, April 6, 2012

Kuwahara Reviewed by Wounds of the Earth

Kuwahara - "Kandyheart Afghan"
[Waiting World Records]

Kuwahara present us with some noise/death industrial in a similar vein to Stratvm Terror, Megaptera, etc. The songs employ deep, hellish drones to provide the foundation for layers of noisey textures. Most of the songs are droning and plod along slowly, though beats present themselves occasionally. There are some cool tracks like "Order of Primitives", "Feeding Tube", and "Scum Class" that have a good, industrial-tinged, rotten sewage feel to them akin to Stratvm Terror. These pieces are dirty and atmospheric, certainly residing amongst the darkest catacombs of the ambient genre, without being overly abrasive. Despite the usual ultra repetitive nature of some death industrial, most these tracks move and shift quite a bit during their duration; there are many different sounds introduced and they don't feel repetitive or overly long. The production here is about as good as you can expect from a style that relies heavily on drones and noise, although the track volume seems to fluctuate from track to track. The only thing I really don't like about this album is that a number of songs contain seemingly random noises which seem out of place and/or annoying to the ear. On "B-33920" and "Meat Bubble" the drumbeats sound totally out of left field and don't fit with the atmosphere generated by the rest of the album. Although "Meat Bubble" sounds kind of like old demo VAC or some other rough, experimental trippy industrial of that time. If you like "heavy" ambient and stuff from Slaughter Productions and so forth, give this one a try.

Much thanks to the WOTE Crew for the time, consideration and support! More info here

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Like Hemlock reviewed in Blood1000

"Just over one hour of music begins with Bloodwood, a silken track with organic sounds accompanying synths and a base drone that carries it along. The track hints at innocence, before descending into a dark landscape before it finishes. The dark ending of Bloodwood prepares the listener for the tense start of Kapala – something ominous this way definitely comes." To read the entire review, please visit

Friday, March 2, 2012

Kuwahara - Kandyheart Afghan Now Available

Kandyheart Afghan, the third release from Kuwahara, reveals the duo's fondness for bleak atmospheres and tortured electronics. Kuwahara continues head-first into the abyss with no signs of turning back. Purposely avoiding the white walls of sound from early pioneers of noise and dark ambient that influenced them, they instead focus on texture and melancholic passages to move their audience with a wretched grace rather than brute force. Make no mistake; this album is a pummeling slab of tectonic movements and soundscapes, much like their previous installments. This however, dwells in a realm of nightmare and abandoned hope.

Digital Download is $5, available in Flac and almost any other format you want. For physical copies, please contact waitingworldrecords at
Enjoy and thanks for your support!

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Like Hemlock to be featured on Time Drone

This Thursday evening, the new release from Miñoza and Peck will be played in its entirety during the Time Drone show on Be sure to tune in! And a very special thanks to Jack Hertz and Stillstream for their support.